People - CMTC 2013

Conference Leadership

Chair: Dave Rogers, Chevron
Dave received his Bachelors Degree in Chemical Engineering from Washington State University and joined Chevron in 1978 as a Designs Engineer in Richmond, CA. He has held a variety of operating and staff management positions during his 35 year career with the company. During the last decade, Dave has served as the Advisor to the President of Global Refining, Manager of Chevron’s Hawaii Refinery and most recently, in several roles within Corporate Strategic Planning. Since 2007, Dave served as General Manager, Climate Change, reporting to the Vice President of Corporate Strategic Planning. This role focused on integrating climate change and greenhouse gas (GHG) management into Corporate and Operating Company strategies and business plans. Recently, this role has been expanded to include long-range world energy modeling and oil price forecasting.

Co-Chair: Jim Howard, IEEE and Lakeland Electric

James M. Howard is currently the Director-Electric System Compliance & Security with Lakeland Electric, a municipal electric company in Lakeland, Florida, where he has worked for over ten years. He is responsible for assuring that Lakeland Electric adheres to, and meets compliance with all North American Electric Reliability Corporation (NERC) and Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) approved Reliability Standards. He joined Lakeland Electric after spending almost 24 years with Tampa Electric Company. Mr. Howard is a member of the Power Engineering, Aerospace and the 2012 President of IEEE-USA.





Carbon Capture, Utilization and Storage:

Chair: José Figueroa,  U.S. DOE National Energy Technology Laboratory

Chair: George Koperna, Advanced Resources International, Inc

Carbon Management Pathways from Electricity Generation to End-Use:

Chair: Veronika Rabl, Vision & Results and IEEE-USA
Chair: Alan Weakly,  Innovative Mining Solution and SME

Potentially Game-Changing Technology and Evaluation:

Chair: Subhas Sikdar, EPA National Risk Management Research Laboratory
Chair: Mary Ellen Ternes, McAfee & Taft

Engineering Challenges and Solutions for Adaptation to Climate Change:

Chair: Miriam Heller, MHITech Systems / ASEE